Culture, God, In, Out, Uncategorized, Up

Déjà View

elevensMountain View Fellowship is celebrating its 11 year anniversary this Sunday, October 2, 2016.  WOW!  I can’t believe it’s gone by so fast.  It seems like yesterday when a small group of people were meeting in a basement dreaming about a church that “only God holds the reigns to” and where “a suit and a mohawk will sit side by side.”

Ironically, our first Sunday was October 2, 2005.  As I reflect back on eleven years of MVF being broken over and over again for eastern Colorado, I am completely humbled and overwhelmed with gratitude.  If I were to thank every single person God has used over the years to make MVF what it is today, I would likely never stop writing.  So, as we celebrate eleven years, I want to share a couple of things God has impressed upon me:

From the early years, God showed us time and time again He was more faithful than we deserved.  He made it obvious MVF was His church and not ours.  Every stage has required steps of increasing faith and each time God has done what only He can do.

He is in control.  Because God patiently walked with us, the faith of your pastors and the MVF leadership isn’t anywhere close to where it was eleven years ago.  He has grown us up in Him and we believe it’s because He has a plan for MVF bigger than we can ever imagine.  A great example is our building program.  Although it has been one of the most frustrating things I’ve ever experienced in my life, it has been a lesson in God’s provision and timing.  In hindsight our elders felt God leading us down this path not only to build His church but to grow our faith and trust in Him.  After five years of planning (two of which we’ve spent wrestling with the county), your elders have come to the sobering conclusion God has allowed us to walk this path where the project (and overall cost) has greatly increased step by step because our faith wasn’t big enough to even start the process had all of it been known in advance.  Today we’re willing to take this huge step of faith that we wouldn’t have taken five years ago.  Reason?  We’ve learned God is in control and He is faithful and trustworthy.

Eleven years ago, I entered into ministry to become a pastor of this new thing we now call MVF because I love God and you.  It was unquestionably a “calling” which I could not ignore (trust me, I tried).  I left a good paying job with great benefits and security to launch a church on the I-70 Corridor with a group of crazy people who were passionate about God and lost people – many of whom are still giving it all they have at MVF.  It’s not just me.  It’s not just the staff.  It’s not just the elders or leadership.

MVF is full of people who love God and are passionate about building His kingdom.  Our Motive is “You Over Me” because that’s how the core group of people at MVF live their lives – always sacrificing for the glory of God.  You’ve shown up early every week for eleven years to set up for services, parked in the farthest corners of the parking lot, watched other people’s children, given up your seats, greeted people you didn’t know with a smile, switched to another service to make room, let go of your preference of worship, led weekly Lifegroups, attended all kinds of meetings during the week, etc., etc., etc.  Why?  To see people far from God come face-to-face with the One who loved & died for them.  To celebrate 372 baptisms and countless transformed lives and restored relationships.  All of you are so godly in how you serve without complaining- even when I have another “idea” about how we can do better which usually requires some measure of change.  I’m humbled by you and honored to serve with such a great family of brothers and sisters.  You make MVF great by being a reflection of Christ to eastern Colorado.  

People typically refer to their occupation as their “work” because it’s stressful and something they have to do.  I can honestly say mine has been a pleasure.  Do I have regrets? Yes, but none God hasn’t been able to overcome (Praise God for that).  But the majority of the last eleven years have been a journey of blessing and growth.

I sit in amazement of how God has taken our measly offering and turned it into something beautiful.  I’m shocked how fast eleven years has gone by and how much God has done in and through MVF.  I look forward to seeing what He will do over the next eleven.  Happy Anniversary MVF!

Leave a comment